Skip to Content
Thu 5 Feb, 2015 # News

Congratulations Henry Callaway

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals has appointed Mobile lawyer Henry Callaway as U.S. Bankruptcy Judge for the Southern District of Alabama. The appointment begins in May and is for a fourteen year term.

Callaway will replace Bankruptcy Judge Margaret A. Mahoney, who has served since 1993 and will retire at the end of April. He will join Chief Bankruptcy Judge William S. Shulman, who has been on the local bankruptcy bench since 1996.

Callaway, 56, has practiced business litigation and bankruptcy law with the Hand Arendall firm in Mobile since 1983. He received his undergraduate degree from Harvard and his law degree from Vanderbilt. Callaway was president of the Mobile Bar Association in 2011 and has been a state bar commissioner since 2008. He has been a leader in the South Alabama Volunteer Lawyers Program for twenty-five years and has served several terms as president. Callaway has received a national award from the American Bar Association for his work to provide legal help to low-income Alabamians. He currently chairs the Alabama Access to Justice Commission.

Callaway is also the long-time scoutmaster of a special needs Boy Scout troop at Augusta Evans School and has served as senior warden at All Saints Episcopal Church.

He is married to Emily Clark Callaway and has two sons.

Hand Arendall is a full-service law firm, providing its clients with legal services in all areas of traditional civil practice. The firm was organized in 1941 and has more than 70 lawyers, making it one of the largest law firms in the State of Alabama. The firm has a fundamental commitment to providing quality legal services in a timely and cost-effective manner. Cases and projects are staffed with the goal of achieving success for the client with maximum efficiency. With offices in Athens, Birmingham, Mobile and Baldwin County, Alabama, Hand Arendall is uniquely situated among the Southeast’s major law firms to provide legal direction to clients throughout Alabama, Florida and Mississippi. Learn more at